A while back I was in a really, really bad place. I was seriously unhappy in my job, I had health issues, I could not sleep well, my personal life was upside down and it was just awful.

My mind set was so negative that I honestly believed it was impossible for anything to change. I thought, this is what my life has become. A meaningless blob of nothing.

Then one day, something just clicked. I realized that my life will have meaning if I engage in life. As in, feel everything I must feel, do everything I must do and to be who I want myself to be.

And to breathe. Just breathe.

And once I took this decision, things seemed to change. I got the job I wanted. My health improved. My personal life is better. And I sleep a whole lot better too.

And all of this got me thinking. ‘Things’ did not just change. I changed. As I always say, do you know what is good about bad times? They pass. And you learn. My god, do you learn.

You can meet the man/woman of your dreams.

You can reach that target at work.

You can get that promotion.

You can have that child you desperately want.

You can reach your ideal weight.

You can have that better relationship with your parents.

Or you might not. And guess what? That’s ok too. It may seem like the end of the world when we do not get what we want, but really it’s not. It’s not the end of the world. You learn, you grow, you adapt.

You are given this one life. By all means, strive for things. Have goals and wants and wishes and dreams. And when you get them, celebrate! And when they go pear-shaped, celebrate that too. Because failure is also part of the human experience and if we never fail or if what we want comes easy to us all the time, we become ungrateful, insufferable bastards. And there are enough of those on this earth, I can assure you.

I once met one of those people who rarely have anything go wrong for them- he was well connected and his daddy bought him his way out of everything. He was the dullest person I ever met and so entitled. He believed the world owed him something, which is really quite terrible.

I choose my flawed existence and trials and tribulations any day.

When life gives you lemons, it’s not about making lemonade. Make a lemon cake. With frosting. And put a candle on it and blow it out and say ‘happy birthday’ even if it’s not your birthday because with every experience we are reborn in a way, with a renaissance of mental weaponary in our arsenal.


Life leaves a scar. And nothing is forever which may seem sad, but it’s not. It’s a good thing.

This is how it works

You’re young until you’re not

You love until you don’t

You try until you can’t

You laugh until you cry

You cry until you laugh

And everyone must breathe

Until their dying breath

No, this is how it works

You peer inside yourself

You take the things you like

And try to love the things you took

And then you take that love you made

And stick it into some

Someone else’s heart

Pumping someone else’s blood

And walking arm in arm

You hope it don’t get harmed

But even if it does

You’ll just do it all again

