So I have been in my new position at work for about 3 months and I must say it really was a most welcome change and in these three months I have learnt many new and interesting things, both clinically and about human nature and ultimately myself.
I now spend almost equal amounts of time in wards and also in an office.
Office life is completely new to me. I have never worked in an office before and I must say, it is quite a new kettle of fish, especially when you share it with five others. So far, the five of us have not been together at the same time due to us all having different shifts and thank God for that as our office is well…cozy. Let us call it cozy. The contrast between office of five people and a rowdy ward of almost a hundred people is also a bit of a shock.
That being said, I am also never alone except for a few minutes in the morning and in the evening as I am always the first to arrive and the last to leave.
So here are a few things I have learn about office life:
1) Lower the register- where I used to work previously, I used to have to use my stage voice in order for people to hear me, even if they were only a metre away. Before speaking, I would be sure to fill my lungs with oxygen to really get full power of my diaphragm and then bellow out instructions, advice and even small talk.

Now, that is completely unnecessary, I do not need to compete to be heard. The five people in this closed room can hear me perfectly well, even if I whisper. I no longer go home with a massive headache that my own voice would have given me.

 

2) Lunch time- The office is small with a microwave in the corner. I am very conscious of what I now bring to work for lunch, because I don’t think my colleagues would appreciate an afternoon in an office that smelt of lampuki or curry. Sandwiches and salads are generally the best bet by far.

 

3) Bathroom breaks- I am very careful as not to irritate my colleagues by constantly getting up to go to the bathroom. It may seem very silly, but somebody who can’t sit still for a minute can get very tiresome to be around.

 

4) Ergonomics- the desk/unit I occupy is totally personalised to my needs. The computer screen is adjusted to just the right height, my filing cabinet has my documents, I keep my essentials in the drawer without the worry of it getting pinched, the telephone line I use the most is right by my side, I spread my papers out the way that makes sense to me…it may not sound like much, but when you are used to sharing everything with a staff of around a hundred, a few personal touches at work make you feel a bit more human.

 

5) No buffer- Everybody in my office knows everything I am doing at any given time. It is not because they are nosey but because there is no way of not knowing. In the ward where I used to be stationed, it was very easy to get lost in the crowd due to the amount of personnel and the sheer size of the place. If you have a little toilet trouble and need to make frequent long trips to the bathroom, your absence will definitely be felt in a small office. In the ward, they would probably call your name a couple of times or send a text and eventually find out or not even notice if they are not too busy.

 So maybe it’s because I am still new to it, I must say I like office life but I am glad to still be up and about and visiting wards and seeing patients. I think I have struck just the right balance and I must say I am really very happy.

https://youtu.be/b44rAzY3IGU

