I’m no huge Gorillaz fan but the song ‘Melancholy Hill’ is one of the sweetest songs I have heard in my 32 years of existence. Yes, it has some sad undertones but like most sad things there is a certain purity of thought and feeling. 

It’s basically about someone who knows that he is not the first in line for another’s affections but he is so enamoured by this person that he is ok with being second best….well, that’s my interpretation.

‘Well, you can’t get what you want but you can get me….

‘Cause you are my medicine

When you’re close to me…’

Yes, the sentiment is adorable but somewhat sorrowful and at the same time very poignant: we can be so blind in our goal of getting what we are so sure we want that we don’t see other options. Or other people. Or other things. Or the possibility of doing without. We become so fixated on a goal that we get a kind of tunnel vision and end up blocking a lot of great things. And then one of two things will happen:

1) you do achieve what you want and when it’s finally there in your hands you find yourself asking was it really worth it? Is my life honestly better, now that I have alienated everyone but I got what I wanted? Have I perhaps romanticised this?

2) you don’t get what you want and you see your life as a sham and you wonder if you will ever stop crying.

And you will stop crying. Because sometimes what we want is not necessarily the best thing for us, which is a hard pill to swallow. It is something very difficult to recognise, but when you do, you feel liberated because the void you felt you had to fill in order to be happy becomes an illusion. 

Let the universe unfold as it will. It’s only natural to want. But it’s important that you have desires and not let the desires have you. Because while chasing what you covet, you might dash by something you had no idea you ever wanted in the first place. And you will cross the finish line with a strange after taste. And a leg cramp.


“On Melancholy Hill”

Up on melancholy hill
There’s a plastic tree

Are you here with me?

Just looking out on the day of another dream
Well, you can’t get what you want but you can get me

So let’s set out to sea, love

‘Cause you are my medicine

When you’re close to me

When you’re close to me
So call in the submarine

‘Round the world we’ll go

Does anybody know her?

If we’re looking out on the day of another dream
If you can’t get what you want then you come with me
Up on melancholy hill sits a manatee

Just looking out for the day

When you’re close to me

When you’re close to me
When you’re close to me

