There are things in life which you simply know you are good at. In fact, you often do not give these things a second thought because you do not struggle to do them. In my case this is true about two things:

Cooking- I know I do this effortlessly. I learnt how to cook when I learnt how to read, because my dad would sit me on the counter with a cook book and have me read out recipes as he prepared the food, a live demonstration so to speak. By the time I was 14 I could cook properly, both savoury and sweet, so now I do not even think much about it anymore. 

Writing- both my parents love to write, as does my brother, so it was kind of ingrained in me. I remember the first story I ever wrote, about a boy who found a magical Chips Ahoy cookie that when ingested would compoundly grow double in size on each bite. This greedy kid swallowed the thing whole, so it went haywire and grew inside him until the boy exploded to a mass of cookie dough, blood and organs. And for all you Monty Python fans out there, I was 6 years old and had never heard of Mr.Creosote. I was just a weird little girl.

This is mr.creosote. THIS CLIP IS ABSOLUTELY NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART.

When I watch this clip I laugh uncontrollably. It gets me every time.

Moving on…

So I know that these aspects are true about myself and I am confident about this knowledge. 

But isn’t it wonderful how sometimes life can show you that you are absolutely stellar at something that you have achieved independently of your upbringing? And how sometimes these things truly surprise you?

One of these things for me was nursing. The amount of times I wanted to quit the course was unbelievable. I rarely to never did well in a practical exam, I felt horribly misunderstood almost all the time and I was seriously miserable. However once I qualified and my care plans were not constrained by what some book probably written by people who never actually practiced nursing but threw themselves into academia from the get-go said, I came into my own. After a while, I realised that I was seriously good at this and became a leader in my field. Who would have thought, that daydreaming girl is actually good at something so clinical? I sure did not. Experience surely surprised me there.

Which leads me to another surprise: the fact that I am a respected leader. At school, I was never a leader. I was considered an odd ball, I was picked on and treated like dirt. I was ashamed of who I was: the wordy nerd who never broke the rules with her equally nerdy friends. I often felt worthless and ugly and constantly had the running thought in brain that the world would be the same with me or without me, which is a pretty dark place to be. 

Well, I’m happy to say that when I got out of that toxic school environment, I learnt how to own being an odd-ball and how to make it an attribute. I have also learnt that in order to be a leader, you have to be different and you need to stand out. And rather than considering this as being odd, it’s more a case of being special and interesting.

Life is always so full of surprises. Personally, I hate surprises. But in certain cases they can be most welcome. 

    
 

