Cliche right? Like I give a damn! Roll on those fab moments! (Well, 10 of them.)

1) Losing 17kg in total. Yes, it took me a year but I’m super happy and I have changed my way of life and my journey to health has now become my stay in health. And I know I can do even better and I WILL do even better.

2) I am a stand-up comedienne. I always dreamt of being one and it has finally happened. And I’m pretty successful, even if I do say so myself.

3) I got promoted. I am one of the youngest deputy nursing officers ever. It was very difficult at first but it is more or less ok now.

4) Through my promotion I rekindled my love for nursing and I was reminded why I became a nurse in the first place.

5) I left the endoscopy unit which was very sad, but at the same time I realised how I was loved and respected and duly missed and how sometimes you may not realise just how much of an impact it is possible to leave without even trying.

6) Watching my husband graduate. I felt so proud. He is a quiet man but so smart and special. He did exceptionally well. We celebrated after the ceremony and had a great time.

7) finding out that a very precious friend of mine beat cancer’s ass. I did my happy dance. When I think of her, I still do my happy dance.

8) I learnt that Facebook is an uber waste of time. Instead of picking up a book, as I usually love to do, I pick up my tablet and read my newsfeed. It’s a sin. And it’s vapid. I still like to share but I like to think I’m smarter about it.

9) I have matured considerably. Yes, I still like to party and have fun. But I have also become more assertive without being rude. It’s an art form, seriously.

Most importantly:

10) for a long time my heart had a bit of a fence around it, I do not let anyone in and I trust very few, if any. We joke about my default setting being no. But I’m trying to loosen the reigns a little and be more open. Fear is a big factor in my life. Fear of failure, fear of getting hurt, fear of everything going wrong. I was pretty badly bullied as a teen so keeping people at arm’s length is kind of what I do best. I’m trying to bridge the gap. There are many who care for me and I care for them. I should be able to show them. And let go. Take a risk, throw caution to the wind and other free-spirited cliches.

And all things in life are circular, I started with a cliche and ended with one. But one belief of mine which will never be mundane is to always be the best you can be, put 100% into everything. Things can still go wrong, but you will learn and I believe in second chances.

I welcome 2014 with open arms. And an open heart.

Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind ?
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
and auld lang syne ?

For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

20131229-201209.jpg

