Well, not the end of a century, but definitely a culmination of a year. Approximately a year ago, I embarked on a journey to health. When I started back then, I did not know it was a journey. It was me tipping the scales at 91kg. Yes, it’s the first time I have made that number public. Because now I have the confidence to be able to say it. I have nothing to hide, that was me.

I managed to shift 16kg. But that’s not what it’s about. It’s about learning to treat yourself properly. I have always thought of myself as a fantastic person, even when I was heavier. I do not have self-esteem issues. I feel like the girl who has everything, but none of it was given to me, I had to work for it. The thing I did not have was a healthy lifestyle. And I had to SERIOUSLY work for that.

The hardest part was admitting that I had a problem. And I sought help. And there’s no shame in that either. I started personal training and obtained meal plans from a reliable professional. Maybe I couldn’t do it on my own as such, but I still got off my arse and did it. After all, I did the exercise and I ate right, nobody did those bits for me. At the end of the day, I reason things out this way: I suppose everyone can themselves their own flu shot, but wouldn’t you feel more comfortable if a professional did it?

And the culmination of all this? I have decided to run a 7km marathon. I just hope I don’t die in the middle. Today while training, I almost felt euphoric because a year ago I would never have even considered doing such a thing and look at me now.

The 1st of December will be my moment of truth. Will I make it to the finish line?

20131109-115732.jpg

Well, I don’t know what I can say about my underwear, but I definitely want to finish that 7km. May God be with me.

