Can I get you anything?
Do you need a blanket?
Are you comfortable?
Do you need help with that?
Stay put, I’ll get it for you.
Please.
If its no trouble.
If you don’t mind.

I use these phrases every day with complete strangers. I use some of these phrases even with friends and family.

Am I polite or a push-over?

At the age of 29 I have realised that I am constantly trying to please others. Patients, colleagues, screaming doctors who show me no respect…

However, I would rather die than hurt somebody’s feelings. I can’t stand the thought that someone is offended by something I did or said, even if I would be 100% right. And I would probably would end up actually saying sorry, even if I was totally right.

I am told that I am too good. That people do what they want with me and I should fight more often. But I’m not that kind of person. I choose my battles wisely.

What a lot of people do not realise is there is an extreme power in being quiet. Who would you take most seriously when it comes to a complaint: the person who complains about EVERYTHING or the person who only speaks up when a problem is very real and very worrying?

Do you know what I think? That it takes a really strong person to be able to keep one’s head in the face of adversity. And there is a certain pride in servitude. You may not get what you want all the time, but hardly anyone does anyway…must people just think they are satisfied by life’s trivial time-to-time winnings, which are forgotten after a few more trivialities.

I know sooner or later, I will have to battle something big. And mark my words, I will be triumphant.

In the meantime…can I get you anything?

Damn straight I’m a superhero.

