I spent a week in Rome in the beginning of January and it was one of the greatest holidays I ever went on.

Now, I have been to Rome twice before, for 10 days on honeymoon and for 4 days with my family. But this time it was different. I spent a week with my parents and I got a real feel for the city.

Of course, watching your weight while in Rome would seem preposterous but really, their produce is so good that eating chicken and veg is a total treat! Even their salads are special!

20130122-123615.jpg

Of course, what the Italians are famous for are their pizza and pasta, which actually look beautiful!

20130122-123754.jpg

20130122-123816.jpg

Yet the most sentimental part for me was visiting the place where I spent my honeymoon, which was in Trastevere. We even visited the restaurant my husband and I went to as soon as we arrived and I ate the exact same meal: ravioli with creamy sausage sauce and home-made tiramisu.

20130122-124227.jpg

20130122-124250.jpg

My one food folly in Rome however is when we went to a restaurant and we were majorly over-charged for everything. The cover charge (which is very common in Rome) was excessive. But the worst part was dessert. I saw a tiny baby-strawberry tart on display and I really, really like them…I had one on my honeymoon, so I thought I’d reminisce. But when the bill came, I was charged 9 euros for it! More expensive than my actual meal! I was shocked. I was expressing my dismay to my mother in Maltese and I think the hostess understood I was upset, so she presented my mother and myself with a rose. I didn’t want a rose, I wanted my 9 euros back, you thieving hussy! At least it was a nice rose. I guess maybe it was foolish of me not to ask the price of the dessert before I ordered it. Oh well.

20130122-125301.jpg

I made sure to throw a coin in the Trevi fountain so I could definitely return 🙂 until next time, everybody.

20130122-125435.jpg

