I am on a bit of an Asian kick at the moment…I have been eating mostly Indian but I have had my first taste of sushi recently and yesterday I invited my family over for some Chinese.

My brother, sister, hubby and I went to a new little Indian place, it was fantastic. I really enjoyed my dessert…kulfi, the best I have ever tasted! It was super, not too sweet, but really tasty, full of pistachio nuts and coconut.

However, my new craze is sushi. I am a total convert. However I got the fright of my life when I tried wasabi. First of all, it presented itself as a tiny bit of green paste on the side of my plate. Since there were little pieces of avocado in the sushi rolls, I assumed that this green paste was some kind of avocado thing and I ate a teaspoon full without and caution or care. All of a sudden, my eyes started to water, and I could not feel my throat. My mucus membranes were in over drive and there was a weird botanic taste on my tongue. Whoa- talk about an attack on the senses. I have had hot food before, like chillies and Harissa sauce, but the heat from those foods is very different from wasabi.

20120916-150614.jpg

Yesterday I made chicken with cashew nuts, spring rolls, prawn crackers and egg fried rice for my family. They adored it! To make this dish, first you have to marinate chicken in egg whites and cornflour then fry it in a wok. When cooked through, you remove it from the wok and cook up some cashew nuts and soy sauce and mirrin and then add the cooked chicken. My sister came to visit at the stage when I cooked the chicken the first time, so it looked bright white and totally unappetising. She looked at the pile of anaemic chicken and made a face. I asked her what was wrong and she said ‘Nothing, nothing!’ which of course means everything. But in the end it was all good and everyone enjoyed their food πŸ™‚

20120916-151630.jpg

This is the cashew nut chicken, not anaemic at all, I think πŸ™‚ This is the egg fried rice:

20120916-151759.jpg

And the sides, prawn crackers and spring rolls:

20120916-151845.jpg

20120916-151907.jpg

I can safely say everyone had a full tummy by the end of the evening. I cheated with the spring rolls, I bought they ready made, but I will definitely tackle them some other time πŸ™‚

And with that I say Sayonara, which is good bye in Japanese, which is probably the only Asian word I know. Xxx

