I have said it time and time again. I love food. I am not ashamed of it. I don’t think anybody should be.

And I wear a size 14 uk. And I personally do not think that is such a problem, but you would be surprised to know that there are many people out there who do find this a problem. LOADS of people. There are a considerable amount of people who make comments about my size. Which, to be honest, is not all that big.

Oh well, at the end of the day what really matters is what I think of myself. And I can’t say I am unhappy. Contrary to many people, I look in the mirror and I like what I see. I look at photographs of myself and smile. I wear clothes to suit my shape. Do I wish I were a size 8 super model? In all honesty, sometimes, but only because it would make buying jeans easier…

But the fact of the matter remains, that no, I am not a super model and I do not have the aspirations to be one. I am a nurse and on the path to acadaemia with as much brains as a super model has looks and maintaining an itty-bitty size is not that important to me.

However, being healthy is important to me. I have many bad habits, the worst being chocolate. Chocolate is not that bad, but I love the most fattening and high in calorific value kinds such as those with peanuts and caramel. Lots of people talk about loving bread and pasta, but that is not really my problem. My problem is my sweet tooth…or perhaps my chocolate tooth.

In any case, to get myself on the right track I took in a smoked salmon salad to work. Usually I am too tired to make my own lunch and I simply eat whatever is on offer at the canteen, which is usually disgusting. Which just goes to show, that if you are hungry enough you will eat anything. Just to put you in the loop, an item on the menu is a steak and onion pie. It is vile. It looks as if an elephant took a dump between two pieces of parchment. Therefore, here is my salmon salad:

I was surprised at how filling it turned out to be, with a little feta cheese, a slight drizzle of olive oil and a freshly squeezed lemon for a bit of a tang. It was really lovely.

For dinner, I pan roasted some chicken, baked some potatoes, marrows and carrots and made a peppercorn sauce using skimmed milk.

As such, I am not such an unhealthy eater, but sometimes I lapse into what is easy rather than what is good for me. My job makes me tired all the time and when I arrive home, the temptation is to slump into a chair with a take-away and a dvd. Ofcourse, we hardly ever do that because we would end up looking like the pachyderms the canteen people get their pie filling from.

I like to eat. Is that a crime? Not in my books. But in this day and age, with all the healthy eating campaigns out there, the consumption of unhealthy food on a daily basis is just unacceptable. Yet, that being said, working hours for any profession have become ridiculously long and cutting back means that one can’t make ends meet and buying good produce becomes financially difficult. And because of the long working hours, one tends to turn to easy pre-cooked frozen meals full of nitrates and saturated fats. In a way, it is a bit of a slippery slope.

All in all, no matter what the situation, I believe if one really wants something, one will strive to get it. And healthy eating is most certainly an obtainable goal. So if you too are out to live a healthier cullinary life, go right ahead, give it a shot. It is not easy if you are an average working joe like myself (or would that be a jane?) but hang in there. For what it’s worth, I empathise 🙂

