In psychology, Stockholm Syndrome is a term used to describe a real paradoxical psychological phenomenon wherein hostages express empathy and have positive feelings towards their captors, sometimes to the point of defending them. I got this explanation from wikipedia, however, I must say, that if Stockholm was my captor, I could only fall in love with it. That’s right- I love Stockholm.

I was there for four days and I think it is such a beautiful city- clean, safe and the food is absolutely amazing. I was there on a gastro-enterology conference, so I did not have that much time to site see, but ofcourse I had to eat and everything I sampled was divine.

Something quite typical to them is toast Skagen, which is a piece of sauteed bread, with a paste of shrimp and salmon with a little roe on top. It is delicious. I wish I got a picture of it, but I was temporarily knocked out of my senses with the great taste, therefore the following picture is not mine:

I also think that in Stockholm, people absolutely love fresh fruit, the stuff was everywhere! There was a huge selection of fruit at breakfast including fresh fruit yoghurts. I also came across a fruit and vegetable vendor in the main square, his wares were so colourful, I just had to get a snap shot.

While there I also visited the Kulturhuseet, or culture house where I ate the most fantastic apple crumble ever. And they don’t serve it with custard, but with a kind of vanilla sauce:

I was travelling alone for the very first time in my life, however there were loads of people I knew at the conference and ended up learning so much stuff and having a great time to boot. I also feel super empowered, like I am capable of anything. And most of all, I feel the happiest I have been in a while. The world is my oyster. Or my toast Skagen…both suit me fine!

