Our lovely pear tree has not failed us this year with a crop of wonderful and succulent pears. Last year I made a bunch of desserts, they were great. I am not exactly a fruit person, however I am finding myself to have a penchant for pears. Seriously. Not to mention, the hubby loves them.

Therefore today for lunch I made a cheese and pear salad. Sounds gross? Well, its not. Nor is it an original creation of my own. I had a pear and gorgonzola salad at a cafe a while back and it was delicious…however not everyone likes gorgonzola, therefore I decided to put a little twist and used Red Windsor cheese which is a white cheddar infused with port. To further push the boundaries, I also included a sage infused cheese and the result was pretty darn good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So good, that I decided to make a pear and gorgonzola salad for work tomorrow, since I absolutely love the stuff.

 

I know there are some people out there who will think fruit is fruit and for dessert and it has no business being in a savoury salad, but I couldn’t disagree more. With a strong and tangy cheesey taste, the burst of sweetness is both tasty and surprising. And I do not think there are enough dessert recipes out there to satisfy the amount of pears I now have in my kitchen, so I definitely need to open up to other cullinary possibilities. I wonder if pork and pears could possibly work….

