Our little strip of soil in our backyard is super fertile. So far apart from a numerous amount of herbs, we have had cherry tomatoes and a pear tree which is starting to blossom again 🙂 And now, we have some lovely lettuce! 

 There is a great satisfaction to growing your own food. But, as always, since I am not so experienced with doing this, I always end up with quite a surplus, last july I remember having more than 100 pears and not knowing what to do with them. I was dishing them out to whoever would eat them. At bar-b-ques I was giving people six packs of beer and a bag full of pears, just so they wouldn’t go to waste. And now I have more lettuce than I can handle. Therefore, salads galore! Today I made a tasty chicken salad by cooking some chicken cubes in a non-stick pan with a tiny drizzle of olive oil, some salt and pepper. I chopped up some home-grown lettuce, some celery sticks, cucumber and some apple chunks and tossed everything together. I then made some curry mayo, by mixing 1 tsp of soy sauce and 1 tsp curry powder with a cup of mayonnaise and I served it on the side. The result was delicious!

  Salad is very good for the bowel. The lettuce provides roughage and the slight drizzle of olive oil really helps with the motility of stool. Also, lettuce is full of anti-oxidants which help ward off cancer.

So if you love yourself, eat lettuce. And if you don’t have any, just knock on my door.

