On the 9th of March it was Ash Wednesday, the first day of lent in the Catholic world which is meant to mark forty days of lenten sacrifice leading up to easter. It is customary not to eat meat that day and in the case of children, sweets as these are considered luxuries.

Or should I say were considered luxuries? Personally, I am not a great fan of lenten sacrifice, I consider it ridiculously traditional and hackneyed. Yeah, fine, call your colleague a bitch, just as long as you did not eat that ham sandwich, everything is cool in the eyes of the Lord.

Bullshit. And nowadays, not eating meat really does not dampen any meal. A lot of people turn to ravioli or pizza, which is no sacrifice to eat at all. Also, I know many people who do not eat sweets during lent not out of a great devotion to Jesus, but in order to lose weight for aesthetic gain.

However, this is not an attack on people who want to carry out lenten sacrifice by not eating certain foods. If you want to do it, go ahead, everybody is free. In fact, I find it really stupid and immature when people lash out on facebook about how great their steak was on Ash Wednesday or Good Friday. If, like me, you do not believe in lenten sacrifice involving food that is fine, but I still think it is important to be respectful to those who do want to observe tradition.

And as a matter of fact, I did observe tradition, mainly out of Catholic guilt and I made spinach and anchovies pie with some capers and olives. And I can promise you, this was no sacrifice to eat:

You know what would be a real sacrifice? How about for 40 days we try to be nice to someone who really irritates us? Or keep company to someone who is really lonely and a bit of a bore? And how about extending it beyond 40 days? How about that?

Lots of love everybody x

