At the moment I am really trying to get my life in order. On the surface, it probably looks like I am a very put-together person, but that is not my natural state. When I still wasn’t married, my husband (then boyfriend) came to my house while I was in the shower, so he went to my bedroom and chatted to my sister until I was ready. When I entered the room I find my husband looking a little shocked and bewildered and my sister laughing her head off. My husband had found a fork in my bed. And he found out the hard way, that is, getting pronged up the chuff way.

I do not know how the hell that happened because I never eat in bed. Never. Maybe the fork grew a pair of temporary legs. I don’t know.

Anyway, I am not that person anymore, I am no longer little miss fork-in-the-bed, I am a mature married woman who juggles running a household, writing a thesis, a demanding full-time job, Zumba class, a social life and time to be a couple with my husband. Did I mention I have an extremely demanding cat too? I have to keep my focus in check all the time.

However I will not tolerate the standard of my cooking going down and therefore I am also concerned with making delicious and practical meals. This pasta bake is great for precisely that. It involves making a white sauce and adding some cheddar cheese to it, wilting some spinach and boiling some penne lisce. Mix the white cheese sauce with the pasta, put in a dish, lay the wilted spinach on top and cover with cheese. Put in the oven until the cheese is melted. If you would like a bit more of a crunch, put it under the grill for 10 minutes instead of baking it. If your oven is fan assisted, 180 for 8mins is enough.

 

I want to be cool, calm, collected, mature and self-sufficient. At the same time I don’t want to lose myself. It is not easy. But I think I can manage.

