Meatloaf, beatloaf I hate meatloaf…at least I did when I was a kid. My dad used to love it. I think he still does.

Anyway, meatloaf has a pretty bad reputation…and I’m not talking about the band (though its reputation as far as I’m concerned is rather dodgy as well.) I mean, when you think about it, it looks pretty disgusting…a greyish brown loaf of, well, meat. Sounds kind of bla. Give the kids chicken nuggets any day.

So I guess I’m growing old, because I made some meatloaf for the hell of it lately and I really liked it. I really, really liked it. I actually found myself saying hah! What do kids know anyway? Which is really an old people thing to say.

Its child’s play to make: some good quality ground beef, onions, carrots, parsley, an egg so it sticks together and some ketchup, chuck into a greased loaf tin and shove it in the oven for about 30mins. Tip it out and eat. You can even make it vegetarian by using soya mince or quorn and there is some fantastic frozen soya mince on the market as the dry one that you have to soak overnight often has an overpowering taste of Oxo cube.

So here it is. Meatloaf- for the adult in you.

