I am so proud! It has always been my aim to cook things from scratch, and this is from scratch as it gets- from a scratch in the soil! I made a pear and almond tart from the tree in my yard 🙂

This year the tree made about 70 pears, and what better way to use about 9 of them in a lovely dessert? 

It was so easy- I made some sweet pastry with 1 1/2 cups plain flour, 70g butter, 1 tablespoon sugar, 1 tablespoon water and 1 egg and 1 teaspoon vanilla. I made it using the dough hook of my electric mixer. Until a while ago, I would make dough entirely by hand but lately I had joint pain and some triggering in two fingers and found out I actually have the beginnings of arthritis, even though I am only 26!

Anyway, I balled up the dough and  put it in the fridge for a bit, because if you don’t it gets really crumbly and a pain in the rear to work with. I brought it out, reserved 1/4 of it for the top, rolled it out into my tart tin and put in the pears and I then let it bake just like that for 20 mins at 200 fan assisted. When the 20 mins were up, I sprinkled some cinammon and brown sugar over the thing, I made some custard, poured it over everything and then made a lattice with the remaining pastry for the top and back in the oven for 30 mins!

And it smells and looks so good, I could just do my happy dance 🙂

